Florida Theft Penalties

Many people don’t know that a single dollar can be the difference between a felony and a misdemeanor theft charge. Additionally, many Floridians don’t know that there are different penalties for theft charges depending on the classification of the charge. In this blog post, Hager & Schwartz will discuss the potential penalties for Florida theft crimes based on their classifications.

Potential Penalties for Florida Theft Crimes

The least severe theft charge (less than $100 of merchandise) is a misdemeanor in the second degree.

A misdemeanor in the second degree can result in:

  • Imprisonment up to 60 days; or
  • A fine of up to $500.

The next level for a theft charge (equal to or more than $100, but less than $300) is a misdemeanor in the first degree.

A misdemeanor in the first degree can result in:

  • Imprisonment not exceeding a year; or
  • A fine of up to $1,000.

At this point, we leave misdemeanors behind and go up to felony charges. The first felony classification for a theft charge (merchandise valued at $300, but less than $20,000) is a felony in the third degree.

A felony in the third degree can result in:

  • Imprisonment not exceeding five years; and
  • A fine of up to $5,000.

The next level for a felony theft charge (merchandise valued at $20,000 or more, but less than $100,00) is a felony in the second degree.

A felony in the second degree can result in:

  • Imprisonment not exceeding fifteen years; and
  • A fine of up to $10,000.

The last classification for a felony theft charge (merchandise valued at more than $100,000) is a felony in the first degree.

A felony in the first degree can result in:

  • Imprisonment not exceeding thirty years; and
  • A fine of up to $10,000.

Based on these classifications; if you steal a phone, jewelry, or anything worth $300 or more, you’ll be facing a felony charge. However, no matter the classification and degree of your theft charge, Hager & Schwartz can help you fight for your case.

If you need experienced representation, call (954) 840-8713 now for a free consultation!

Categories:

Contact Us 24/7 to Start Your Case

    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
      Please enter your phone number.
    • This isn't a valid email address.
      Please enter your email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
Put Us On Your Side