Fort Lauderdale Multiple DUI Lawyer
Legal Representation for Repeat DUI Offenders in FL
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense that can subject convicted drivers to a number of criminal penalties and long-term consequences. While first-time offenders face harsh penalties, drivers who face DUI charges with prior DUI convictions can face more severe punishment.
Florida law does not take kindly to repeat DUI offenders. If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI and have been convicted of a DUI in the past, experienced legal representation should be your first priority. Our Fort Lauderdale multiple DUI attorneys at Hager & Schwartz, P.A. draw from insight gained as former Florida prosecutors to help clients charged with a second, third, or subsequent DUI navigate the legal process and protect their rights and futures.
Get the representation you need now. Call (954) 840-8713 for a FREE consultation.
Florida’s Lookback Period for Multiple DUI
Under Florida law, drivers may face elevated charges and penalties for multiple DUI if they were convicted of a DUI in the past. However, state law implements a “look-back” period that plays a factor in these cases. This lookback period works as follows:
- A second DUI in a 5-year period
- A third DUI in a 10-year period
If this situation applies to a case, it can result in enhanced penalties. For example, if you are charged with a DUI and were convicted of two DUIs in the past – one 12 years ago and another 3 years ago - the new charge will be treated as a second offense. This is because the oldest conviction occurred outside of the 10-year lookback period, and will not be considered in regard to the new offense.
Penalties for Multiple DUI in Broward County
Penalties will always vary depending on the nature and number of an offense. Florida law outlines the enhanced penalties for multiple DUIs as the following:
Second DUI Penalties in FL
- Between 10 days and a 9-month jail sentence. When BAC is over .15, the maximum sentence extends to up to 1 year in jail.
- 5-year license suspension, with possible Ignition Interlock Device installation
- 30-day vehicle impoundment
- $1,000 to $4,000 fine
Third DUI Penalties in FL
- Third-degree felony charges
- Between 30 days and 1-year jail sentence
- 10-year license suspension
- 90-day vehicle impoundment
- $2,000 to $5,000 fine
Florida Aggravating Factors in a DUI Case
Drivers charged with a multiple DUI offense can face additional penalty enhancements when certain circumstances are involved in their case. These circumstances can include:
- High BAC levels
- Having a minor in the vehicle
- Driving on a suspended/revoked license
- Accidents, injuries, or death
Our legal team has handled many DUI cases over the years and is familiar with how to create defense strategies that avoid or minimize penalties and their impact on your life. This includes representing clients in matters involving their driver’s license and helping them obtain a hardship license.
Free Consult with a Fort Lauderdale Multiple DUI Attorney
Time is a critical factor after being charged with a crime, and our attorneys are available days, nights, and weekends to immediately help with your case. To learn more about protecting your rights, your license, and your future following a multiple DUI charge, contact us today for a FREE and confidential consultation.
He over time has become more than an attorney but truly a friend
He is a connoisseur of his craft and conveyed all arguments to its full potential.- Arthur S
He got it done!- John Bruno
John Hager is one of a Kind!!!- anonymous
"He worked tirelessly and relentlessly to get my case dropped"- Michael
Case Dismissed Aggravated Battery
Case Dismissed Armed Robbery
Case Dismissed Battery
Resolved Burglary Battery
Charges Not Filed Disorderly Conduct
Dismissed Domestic Battery
Dismissed Domestic Violence Battery
Dismissed Domestic Violence Battery
Charges Dropped Domestic Violence Battery
Charges Dismissed Domestic Violence Battery