Ft. Lauderdale Hit and Run Attorney
Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Broward County, FL
Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious legal matter. This offense, also called a "hit and run" can result in very stiff penalties if you are convicted. An individual is required by Florida law to stay at the scene of an accident if they have somehow been involved—whether or not they have caused the accident and/or are at fault.
If you are later arrested and charged, you may spend time in jail or prison and be forced to pay expensive fines. If the accident only caused property damage, the penalties will likely be less than if injuries were sustained in the accident.
If you are facing charges, contact our Fort Lauderdale hit and run attorney to discuss your options in a free consultation today!
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida
Leaving the scene is a very serious criminal charge and has several levels of penalties in Florida, based on the accident and the outcome.
The penalties for a hit & run include:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- $500 fine
If there was an injury in the accident, and you are charged with leaving the scene, the charge becomes much more serious.
Florida Hit and Run with Injury Penalties
Penalties for a hit and run with injury are as follows:
- Third-degree felony charge
- Up to 5 years in prison
- Up to $5, 000 in fines
Florida Hit and Run Causing Death Penalties
If a death occurred as a result of the hit and run accident, these are the following penalties:
- First-degree felony charge
- Up to 30 years in state prison
- Fines up to $10, 000
It is a legal requirement that if you are involved in a vehicle accident, that you stop and exchange contact information, insurance information and get medical assistance for any injured individuals. If you fail to do so, you will be sought out by law enforcement, and when caught, charges of leaving the scene of an accident will most likely be the result. This is a very serious legal problem, and it is critical that you contact a Fort Lauderdale criminal attorney if you are facing this situation.
How to Defend Against a Hit and Run Charge in Fort Lauderdale, FL
If you are seeking to get a hit and run charge reduced or dropped, your first step is to speak with a knowledgeable Fort Lauderdale defense attorney. Our firm can help you understand what to expect in your specific case and how to fight for your freedom.
Do not wait to seek legal counsel. Call Hager & Schwartz, P.A. to discuss your case with a Fort Lauderdale hit and run lawyer immedialtey!
He over time has become more than an attorney but truly a friend
He is a connoisseur of his craft and conveyed all arguments to its full potential.- Arthur S
He got it done!- John Bruno
John Hager is one of a Kind!!!- anonymous
"He worked tirelessly and relentlessly to get my case dropped"- Michael
Case Dismissed Aggravated Battery
Case Dismissed Armed Robbery
Case Dismissed Battery
Charges Were Not Filed Battery
All Charges Dismissed Bodily Injury
Case Resolved with No Jail/Prison Time Burglary Battery
Case Dismissed Burglary of Conveyance and Battery on Elderly
Case Dismissed Criminal Mischief and Disorderly Intoxication
Charges Not Filed Disorderly Conduct
Case and Injunction Dismissed Domestic Battery and Civil Petition for Restraining Order