Juvenile DUI Lawyer Fort Lauderdale, FL
Facing Underage DUI Charges in Florida?
In Florida and throughout the country, the minimum drinking age is 21. Consumption of alcohol by persons under the age of 21 is illegal. Because of this fact, the .08 percent blood alcohol standard that is applied to adults in DUI cases is not applied to underage drivers. All it takes to charge an underage driver with DUI is a BAC of .02 percent.
If you or someone you know is facing drunk driving charges, there is no time to waste in securing trusted DUI representation. Click here to fill out an online contact form.
Zero Tolerance Law in Florida
Many states have adopted a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving, and that includes Florida.
Under the zero-tolerance policy, any underage driver who scores a .02% BAC or higher can be charged with an underage DUI. This policy also applies to driving boats, motorcycles, or any other motor vehicle.
If the underage driver scores a .08% or higher, they will face the same penalties as someone over 21 years old.
Florida Underage DUI Penalties
Underage drivers who are convicted of DUI can face a variety of penalties including jail time, a loss of driving privileges, and hefty fines. These punishments depend on the juvenile’s prior criminal history, age, and the nature of the current offense, including the presence of any aggravating factors and the driver’s BAC at the time of the arrest.
A first offense in Florida could result in a $2,000 fine and jail time, as determined by a judge, for a BAC exceeding .08 percent. Second offenses could result in jail sentences of up to a year, and a fine of up to $4,000. Driving privileges are likely to be suspended for between six months and a year.
Avoiding a DUI by Refusing a Breath Test in FL
If you are underage and have been caught driving under the influence, you may think it’s smarter to refuse the breath test. After all, they can’t prove it if you don’t comply, right?
You may want to think again. Florida has implied consent laws, meaning that you automatically consent to take breath tests when you operate a vehicle when asked.
Refusing to submit to the test will result in having your license suspended for one year.
Related Alcohol Charges in FL
Underage DUI isn’t the only alcohol-related charge for those under 21.
Minors may also face charges for:
- Soliciting alcohol
- Minor in possession
- Distributing alcohol to minors
- Child endangerment
- Moving and vehicle maintenance violations
- Possession of false ID
It is important to note that any adult who supplies alcohol to minors can also be held liable and criminally responsible.
Furthermore, insurance companies may opt to terminate or refuse to renew a policy after an underage DUI conviction, or may significantly increase monthly premiums for policies they consider “high risk.” This rate change could be in effect for three to five years.
Request a Free Consult with Hager & Schwartz, P.A.
Young people have their whole lives ahead of them and should not have their futures ruined by a mistake that they have learned from. With decades of experience handling DUI cases in Broward County, you can be confident in our Fort Lauderdale juvenile DUI attorney team's ability to pursue the very best results possible in your case.
Contact a Fort Lauderdale juvenile DUI attorney today to learn how our firm can help.
He over time has become more than an attorney but truly a friend
He is a connoisseur of his craft and conveyed all arguments to its full potential.- Arthur S
He got it done!- John Bruno
John Hager is one of a Kind!!!- anonymous
"He worked tirelessly and relentlessly to get my case dropped"- Michael
Case Dismissed Burglary of Conveyance and Battery on Elderly
Case and Injunction Dismissed Domestic Violence Battery
Case Dismissed Retail Theft Crime
Case Dismissed Criminal Mischief and Disorderly Intoxication
Case Dismissed Grand Theft
Case Dismissed Aggravated Battery
Case Dismissed Probation Violation
Case Dismissed Domestic Violence Battery and Intimidating a Witness
Case Dismissed Domestic Violence Battery
Case Was Not Filed Failure to Obey a Police Officer