GUN AND WEAPONS DEFENSE LAWYER IN FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
FLORIDA WEAPON LAWS AND PENALTIES
Being charged with a weapon-related offense can spell disaster for your reputation and your future. Your selection of legal representation may be one of the most critical decisions you ever make. Not all lawyers are knowledgeable about the ins and outs of Florida’s weapon laws.
At Hager & Schwartz, P.A., we put decades of combined experience to work for you. As former prosecutors ourselves, we know how Fort Lauderdale prosecutors tend to pursue these kinds of charges. We can apply that insight to your unique case while building an airtight defense on your behalf.
Have you been charged with a crime involving a weapon? Contact a Fort Lauderdale gun lawyer as soon as possible. Just call (954) 840-8713.
UNDERSTANDING FLORIDA'S WEAPON LAWS
Florida law enforces several laws prohibiting or restricting the manufacture, transportation, transfer, sale, or possession of certain firearms and other dangerous weapons.
In Florida, you cannot possess a weapon if:
- You are under 16 years old, unless the weapon remains in the home, unloaded, and under parental supervision
- You have a drug addiction
- You are mentally ill
- You have been convicted of a felony and your civil right to own a firearm has not been restored
With several different weapons offenses you could be charged with, many are serious crimes that are penalized harshly because they directly impact public safety. As such, anyone charged with a weapon crime of any type should understand that their freedoms and future are at risk.
TYPES OF WEAPON-RELATED OFFENSES IN FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
Because there are so many laws regulating the purchase and use of weapons, it can be difficult to know what is and what is not legal. Many people are charged with weapon-related crimes without even knowing their actions were illegal.
Our gun crimes attorneys in Fort Lauderdale can defend you if you have been charged with:
- Brandishing a firearm
- Unlawful discharge of a deadly weapon
- Unlawful sale of firearms
- Battery with a deadly weapon
- Possession of a firearm without a permit
- Felon in possession of a firearm
- Unlawful possession of a deadly weapon
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assault weapon offenses
FLORIDA LAWS FOR CONCEALED WEAPONS & FIREARMS
Under § 790.01 and § 790.052, carrying concealed firearms or weapons is defined as having a weapon that is not in plain view. If arrested for illegal concealed carry, the individual may be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 1 year in jail.
If the concealed weapon is a firearm, the individual may be charged with carrying a concealed firearm, a third-degree felony with potential penalties that include up to 5 years in prison. However, those who have a license to carry a concealed weapon cannot be charged with this offense in Florida.
POSSESSION OF A STOLEN FIREARM IN FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA
Since Florida recognizes laws banning the illegal possession of a firearm and acts of theft, possessing a stolen firearm is a serious crime. Since both of these activities can be charged as felony offenses, possession of a stolen firearm is a felony as well. The degree of your charges will depend on the circumstances of the situation.
FLORIDA WEAPON CRIME CONVICTION PENALTIES
If you are convicted of a weapon or firearm crime, you could be facing severe and even life-altering consequences.
In Fort Lauderdale, the penalties for some of these charges include:
- Prison time
- Mandatory community service
- Loss of your right to own a firearm
If you have earlier felony convictions, it is likely that your penalty will be enhanced or that you will get the maximum penalty.
WERE YOU CHARGED WITH A WEAPON-RELATED CRIME IN FT. LAUDERDALE?
If you are up against the criminal justice system, it is absolutely crucial that you have a skilled gun crimes lawyer in Fort Lauderdale fighting for you from the moment of your arrest. At Hager & Schwartz, P.A., our legal team has helped numerous individuals arrested for weapons charges have their cases dismissed or the charges reduced.
Contact us online or call (954) 840-8713 now.