A hit-and-run refers to a driver that hits another driver’s car and leaves without giving the other person their contact and insurance information and leaves before authorities arrive. If involved in a crash, make sure to stay with the other person and contact the police.
The Consequences of Leaving the Scene
If the driver leaves before any of the above occurs, he or she can receive a variety of penalties.
The penalties vary based on the extent of the damages, as explained by Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles:
- Property Damage (second-degree misdemeanor): 60 days in prison and $500 fine.
- Injuries (second or third-degree felony): Revoked license for three years, five years in prison, and $5,000 fine.
- Fatalities (first degree felony): Revoked license for three years, minimum 4 years imprisonment and $10,000 fine.
The potential consequences heavily outweigh any payments you may need to make to the other driver or your insurance company. In short, it’s not worth it to go to prison and pay fines for a hit-and-run, so stay at the scene.
Stay At the Accident
If you’re involved in an accident, immediately try to get out of the road and contact the driver to see if they are okay. If it’s an emergency, contact 911, but if it’s not, then call the local sheriff’s department. Exchange information and then wait for the authorities to arrive.
What If I’m Being Charged With Hit-and-Run?
When charged with any crime, contact an attorney to get the facts about your situation. If you need a Florida criminal defense attorney in the Broward area, contact Hager & Schwartz. We provide services for various cases including DUIs, hit-and-runs, and other car-related crimes. If you need a Florida criminal defense attorney, give us a call to see how we can help.
Call (954) 840-8713 now for an immediate consultation for your case!