Excessive BAC DUIs in Florida
Someone’s blood alcohol content (BAC) could be the difference between going home without a hitch and getting booked for driving under the influence (DUI). While an officer can arrest someone if their BAC is at or over 0.08%, a breathalyzer test could lead to additional penalties if the accused has an excessive BAC. Therefore, it’s good to know what constitutes an excessive BAC in Florida.
Excessive BAC DUI
An excessive BAC DUI is when someone is DUI with a BAC that’s two times over the legal limit. In other words, an excessive BAC DUI is when someone has a 0.16% BAC while driving. If someone is accused of driving with an excessive BAC, he or she could face additional criminal penalties for a successful DUI conviction.
Potential Penalties for Excessive DUIs
A typical first-time DUI could result in the following penalties:
- Fine of not less than $500 or more than $1,000 for a first conviction;
- Imprisonment of not more than six months.
While these penalties are serious, an excessive DUI charge could result in worse penalties.
A typical first-time excessive DUI could result in the following penalties:
- Fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000 for a first conviction;
- Imprisonment of not more than nine months.
As you can see, the penalties are much more severe for a first-time excessive DUI when compared to a first-time regular DUI. However, regardless of the charges levied against you, hiring experienced representation for your case can help.
Charged with a DUI? We Can Help
Hager & Schwartz is an award-winning criminal defense that gets results for its clients. If you want practiced representation for your case, our firm is here to help!
Call (954) 840-8713 now for a free consultation for your case.