DUI with a Minor in the Vehicle
We all know that driving under the influence (DUI) could result in criminal accusations and subsequent convictions, but did you know that the circumstances of a DUI could increase potential penalties? Today, we will examine a prime example of when arrest conditions impact criminal outcomes: DUI with a minor in the vehicle.
Florida’s DUI with a Minor Law
DUI penalties can increase when someone has a minor in their car when they are charged with a DUI. In fact, having a minor in the car could increase penalties in the same way that a 0.15% breath-alcohol content DUI could increase penalties.
As Florida law states, a person under the age of 18 counts as a minor for the purposes of this law. Therefore, DUI charges with an 18-year-old in the car could lead to typical DUI penalties.
Potential penalties for a DUI with a minor in the vehicle may include.
A fine of:
- Not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000 for a first conviction;
- Not less than $2,000 or more than $4,000 for a second conviction;
- Not less than $4,000 for a third or subsequent conviction.
By imprisonment for:
- Not more than 9 months for a first conviction.
- Not more than 12 months for a second conviction.
A first-time DUI conviction could result in the following penalties:
- Fine of not less than $500 or more than $1,000 for a first conviction;
- Not more than 6 months for a first conviction.
As you can see, a DUI with a minor in the vehicle could result in double the fine and up to 1.5 times the jail time as a simple DUI charge. Therefore, if you’ve been accused, you need experienced criminal defense for your case.
If you or a loved one are facing DUI charges, you’ll want experienced criminal defense on your case. Call Hager & Schwartz at (954) 840-8713 now for a free consultation.