Public Intoxication Florida
In most states, having one too many drinks in public could end in a criminal charge, but in Florida, public intoxication isn’t a crime. However, while drinking mojitos and walking down the sidewalk is legal, drunk behavior can still result in serious consequences.
Disorderly Intoxication Florida Statute
Florida has what’s called a disorderly intoxication charge police use to evaluate a person’s drunkenness. If the drinker is found in violation of the disorderly intoxication law, he or she could face criminal charges.
A drinker violates the Florida disorderly intoxication law when he or she is:
- intoxicated and endangers the safety of another person or property;
- intoxicated or drinks any alcoholic beverage in a public place and causes a public disturbance.
Therefore, public intoxication is not a crime in Florida, but that only depends on the person’s behavior while intoxicated. If a drunk is endangering the safety of someone’s life, or if a drunk is causing a public disturbance then an officer can arrest him or her for disorderly intoxication.
Possible Penalties for Disorderly Intoxication in FL
A disorderly intoxication charge is a Florida misdemeanor of the second degree.
The possible penalties for a second-degree misdemeanor conviction are:
- Imprisonment of up to 60 days; and/or
- A fine of up to $500.
A second-degree misdemeanor goes on your criminal record, and subsequent offenses can dramatically impact your life. Therefore, if you or a loved one are charged with disorderly intoxication, it is wise to hire an experienced criminal defense representation as soon as possible!
Need help for your case? Call (954) 840-8713 now for an immediate consultation with our firm!