How To Handle Tax Evasion Charges In Florida
January 21, 2021
What Are Florida’s Restrictions On Gun Ownership?
February 16, 2021

What Is Considered Sale Of Controlled Substance?

By Hager & Schwartz, P.A.

January 27, 2021

The sale of a controlled substance is the sale or even potentially the delivery of an illegal drug. If you are charged with this crime, it can fall under possession with intent to distribute or a similar drug distribution charge. Individuals are often charged with this if police find bags or containers with a controlled substance.

The penalties and fines of being charged with this crime can vary depending on the substance, amount, and several other variables. However, drug distribution as a third-degree felony prosecuted as possession with an intent to sell could get you up to five years and require a fine of up to $5,000. A second-degree felony conviction can result in imprisonment for up to fifteen years and a fine up to $10,000. Each state has different schedules, or lists, in which they decide the severity of drugs and substances. We have a brief and simplified version of Flordia’s drug schedules below for your convenience.

Florida’s Drug Schedules

Drug schedules are generally organized by the level of addictiveness or danger each drug presents to society. Schedule I is the most dangerous, and Schedule IV is the least harmful or addictive.

Florida Schedules are as follows:

Schedule I: These are generally the most severe, including drugs like LSD and heroin, but many people are surprised to learn that Florida considers marijuana as a Schedule I substance.

Schedule II: These substances are highly addictive, including PCP, cocaine, opioids, and various types of methamphetamines.

Schedule III: These substances have some accepted medical uses and have a high risk of addiction, including codeine and anabolic steroids.

Schedule IV: These are drugs that have widely-accepted medicinal uses but are often obtained illegitimately through prescription fraud. This can often include Xanax or Valium.

Certain drugs, like cocaine and methamphetamine, are restricted at both the federal and state level, which may, in turn, make your charges more severe.

What Should You Do Next?

If you or a loved one has been charged with a drug-related crime, often the next best step to take is to talk to a criminal defense lawyer. The cost of fines combined with the cost of having a conviction on your record can be detrimental.

At Hager & Schwartz, P.A., we may be able to help with your charges today. Call us today to talk to someone about setting up your defense for your case. (954) 840-8713.